Bourse J. André Fortin, 2nd recipient

We are delighted to announce that the 2018 recipient of the J. André Fortin Award is Thomas J. Pray who has defended in December 2017 his thesis titled “The Effect of Mycorrhizal Fungi Associated with Willows Growing on Marginal Agricultural Land” (under the supervision of Marc St-Arnaud and Michel Labrecque).

The jury was impressed with the excellence of Thomas’ thesis as well as his defense of it. Thomas has also remarkably exploited the results from his research project.

This $1000 grant is awarded every year to the IRBV student with the best thesis in the field of mycology and mycorhizes. It comes from a generious donation from Mr J. André Fortin, one of the IRBV’s founders and its first director.

The award will be given to Thomas during the Célébrer les arts et les sciences (‘Celebrating Arts And Science’) event which will take place on Tuesday 20 November 2018 at the Université de Montréal.

Congratulations Thomas!

(photo by Marie Connolly)