Canadian Airborne Biodiversity Observatory (CABO)

CABOThe Canadian Airborne Biodiversity Observatory (CABO) is a cross-scale initiative involving some of Canada’s leading researchers in biodiversity and remote sensing. Its overall objective is to build on and extend the spectranomics approach in Canada to improve our ability to forecast biosystem responses to environmental changes. In doing so, CABO will revolutionise the way biodiversity data is acquired across Canada and the world. CABO will link with and strengthen other international spectranomics initiatives to position Canada as a global leader in biodiversity science and conservation.

CABO will use high-fidelity field spectroscopy to measure foliar spectra using standardised protocols across a wide range of plant species of various growth forms from ecosystems representing major Canadian ecozones. This will provide the foundational data on which CABO depends. Standardised field-collected foliar spectra will help determine how spectral signatures map onto plant phylogeny and at their potential for remote species discrimination across Canadian ecosystems. In addition, it will quantify the extent to which foliar spectra can remotely sense the major foliar chemicals that drive the biosphere (e.g. chlorophyll, nitrogen).

A major asset of CABO’s spectral database will be its reliability and traceability, both in terms of its geo-referenced, high-fidelity standardised spectral measurements and the accurate plant species identification relying up-to-date taxonomy (using VASCAN). Each spectrum will be associated with a herbarium species deposited at the Marie-Victorin herbarium at the Centre sur la biodiversité of Université de Montréal, and entered into Canadensys. This freely accessible foliar spectral database will be of tremendous value for taxonomy, ecology, and remote sensing research, and will provide the foundation for all future applications of high-resolution canopy biodiversity censuses based on hyperspectral imagery.

For more information:
CABO website

Etienne Laliberté
etienne.laliberte@umontreal
514.343.6132

CABO

+ Centre sur la biodiversité

Observatoire Aérien Canadien de la Biodiversité (CABO)

CABOL’Observatoire Aérien Canadien de la Biodiversité (CABO) vise à développer une technologie novatrice de télédétection, la « spectranomique », laquelle permettra de caractériser rapidement la canopée (strate supérieure) de la végétation sur de grandes surfaces. Cela permettra, par exemple, de cartographier rapidement la composition en espèces de tous les arbres d’une forêt. Ces travaux de recherche contribueront à développer une technologie novatrice, laquelle décuplera la capacité à mesurer les changements de composition végétale dans les écosystèmes.

Objectif

L’Observatoire Aérien Canadien de la Biodiversité (CABO) implique cinq chercheurs canadiens en biodiversité et en télédétection. L’objectif principal est d’étudier et de comprendre les changements de biodiversité végétale à l’échelle du Canada, en utilisant la technologie émergente de la spectranomique. Ce faisant, CABO va révolutionner la façon dont les données de biodiversité végétale sont acquises au Canada et à travers le monde. CABO renforcera d’autres initiatives internationales en spectranomique et positionnera le Canada comme leader mondial en science de biodiversité et de la conservation.

CABO utilisera la spectroscopie à haute-fidélité pour mesurer les signatures spectrales de plantes canadiennes provenant de différents types d’écosystèmes, en utilisant des protocoles standardisés. Cette base de données spectrales sera la fondation de CABO qui permettra d’interpréter l’imagerie aérienne hyperspectrale au niveau de la biodiversité végétale.

L’une des grandes forces de la base de données spectrales de CABO sera sa traçabilité au niveau de l’indentification taxonomique des espèces de plantes. Chaque signature spectrale sera associée à un spécimen d’herbier déposé à l’herbier Marie-Victorin de l’Université de Montréal, l’un des plus importants au Canada. Cette base de données de signatures spectrale sera d’une valeur inestimable pour la taxonomie, l’écologie et la télédétection de la végétation, et permettra de nombreuses applications futures de télédétection de la biodiversité végétale basée sur l’imagerie hyperspectrale.

Pour plus d’information:
site web de CABO

Etienne Laliberté
etienne.laliberte@umontreal
514.343.6132

CABO

+ Centre sur la biodiversité