Canadensys

The Canadensys network, managed by the Université de Montréal Biodiversity Centre, brings together collections belonging to several Canadian universities, botanical gardens and museums, collectively constituting tens of millions of specimens.

The mission of Canadensys is to coordinate the networking of participating biological collections’ data, and to make this data accessible to the public in a user-friendly web environment. Canadensys data is compatible with that of the Global Biodiversity Information Facility (GBIF) and the Canadian Biodiversity Information Facility (CBIF). This compatibility facilitates pan-Canadian and international collaboration, and ensures the development of new partnerships related to biodiversity and sustainable development.

Launched in 2012, the Canadensys Explorer allows the user to search, sort, view and download all specimens published on Canadensys, and view them on interactive maps. The Explorer presently includes nine collections, corresponding to half a million specimens. Other collections will be integrated soon.

Analysing Canadensys data using environmental and geospatial models will allow public and private administrators to take appropriate steps to ensure the conservation and sustainable use of Canada’s biological heritage.

Contact: Carole Sinou

+ Centre sur la biodiversité

Canadensys

Géré par le Centre sur la biodiversité de l’Université de Montréal, le réseau Canadensys regroupe les collections de plusieurs universités, jardins botaniques et musées canadiens qui hébergent collectivement des dizaines de millions de spécimens.

La mission de Canadensys est de coordonner la mise en réseau des données des collections biologiques participantes et de les rendre accessible à tous par l’intermédiaire d’un environnement Web convivial. Les données de Canadensys sont compatibles avec celles du Système mondial d’information sur la biodiversité (SMIB/GBIF) et celles du Système canadien d’information sur la biodiversité (SCIB). Cette compatibilité facilite les collaborations nationales et internationales et assure le développement de nouveaux partenariats sur la biodiversité et le développement durable.

Lancé en 2012, l’explorateur Canadensys permet d’explorer, de filtrer, de visualiser et de télécharger tous les spécimens publiés dans Canadensys, et de pouvoir les visualiser sur des cartes interactives. L’explorateur regroupe présentement neuf collections, correspondant à plus d’un demi-million de spécimens. D’autres collections y seront intégrées prochainement.

L’analyse des données de Canadensys par des modèles environnementaux et géospatiaux pourra permettre aux gestionnaires des milieux publics et privés de prendre les mesures nécessaires pour assurer la conservation et l’utilisation durable du patrimoine biologique canadien.

Personne ressource: Carole Sinou

+ Centre sur la biodiversité