Marie-Victorin Excellence Award

The Marie-Victorin Excellence Award is presented every year to a Ph.D. student at the IRBV. This $5,000 grant is funded by income from the Fonds Marie-Victorin , a growth fund created in honour of the founder of the Montréal Botanical Institute (now the IRBV) and the Montreal Botanical Garden.

Born Conrad Kirouac, Brother Marie-Victorin (1885-1944) had the gift of being able to communicate his passion for science to a wide audience. His extensive scientific inventory of the plants of Québec’s St. Lawrence River Valley was published under the title La flore laurentienne in 1935, and has since been updated and reprinted (1964, 1995). One of the founders of ACFAS (Association canadienne française pour l’avancement des sciences) in 1923, he also supported the establishment of clubs for young naturalists (Cercles des Jeunes Naturalistes). He was a major force behind the creation of both the Montreal Botanical Garden, now ranked among the greatest botanical gardens in the world, and the Université de Montréal Botanical Institute (Institut botanique de l’Université de Montréal), known today as the IRBV (Plant Biology Research Institute).

The Marie-Victorin Excellence Award is a supplement to the recipient’s income, and does not replace the financial support determined by the Department of Biological Sciences for a graduate student at the Ph.D. level. This award is intended to:

  • contribute to the student’s financial independence;
  • promote excellence in research;
  • develop highly-skilled future researchers;
  • heighten the importance and impact of research in plant biology;
  • increase the leadership and visibility of the IRBV.

Terms and conditions

The Marie-Victorin Excellence Award is presented to a student registered in a doctoral program at the Université de Montréal, supervised or co-supervised by a professor-researcher at the IRBV. The student must be registered full-time and have no intention of submitting a thesis before the January 1st preceding the award request. The recipient is not eligible to apply for the award for a second year.

Evaluation of applications

Candidates will be evaluated by the IRBV’s selection committee according to the following criteria, in order of priority:

  • the originality and quality of the research project;
  • the applicant’s potential as a researcher;
  • the applicant’s financial resources;
  • the applicant’s academic excellence.

Applicants must submit all of the following documents:

  • a description of the research project, justifying its importance (two pages);
  • a list of the applicant’s financial resources for the year for which the award will be granted, specifying amounts and including financial support to be received from the supervisor;
  • a letter of recommendation from the research supervisor;
  • a copy of the applicant’s curriculum vitae.

Application deadline

The deadline for student applications is August 31st of each year. An electronic version of all documents must be submitted in PDF format to Lucie Campeau (lucie.campeau@umontreal.ca).

Thank you to the following generous contributors

Coop fédérée Amis du Jardin Botanique

To contribute, please see the Fonds Marie-Victorin page.

Every year, the Marie-Victorin Fund makes it possible for the IRBV to offer an award to one of its doctoral students. The recipients of this excellence award are:

2017 recipient

Julie Faure is the 2017 recipient of the Marie-Victorin Excellence Award. The selection committee awarded the $5000 prize to Julie for her research project on plant-pollinator relationships and the evolution of pollination in Gesneriaceae native to the Caribbean islands (Gesneria and Rhytidophyllum), a project supervised by Simon Joly.

Among the nine excellent candidates, the members of the committee chose to recognize Julie for her academic excellence, the originality and clarity of her project presentation and her dedication as a volunteer.

Her thesis supervisor describes her as a student who demonstrates great curiosity. “Julie is truly passionate about natural sciences. She has a particular love for birds, as well as mammals and plants. It is not surprising that her Ph.D. project examines the relationships between several domains of life science!”

According to Simon Joly, Julie has a special gift for synthesis and analysis, and is also a talented communicator and generous volunteer. “Julie is an outstanding communicator,” he says proudly. “She has received high praise when she has presented her research at symposiums. Even more importantly, she really enjoys sharing her enthusiasm for science with the general public. She is very involved with Les Scientifines, an organization whose mission is to interest girls in science. Her success in getting these young people involved is absolutely remarkable!”

2016 recipient

Bara Altartouri, récipiendaire 2016 de la Bourse Marie-VictorinBara Altartouri is the 2016 recipient of the Marie-Victorin Excellence Award. The selection committee awarded the $5000 prize to Bara for his research project, “Intricate cell shape formation in Arabidopsis pavement cells”.

The committee members – researchers Alain Cuerrier, Colin Favret and Luc Brouillet – were greatly impressed by the scientific quality of Bara’s project, the clarity of his descriptions, as well as the young researcher’s many qualities.

Dr. Anja Geitmann, his thesis supervisor, agrees wholeheartedly with their assessment, adding that Bara is one of the most talented students she has supervised in her career. “Integrating into my research program, which focuses on plant development from a mechanical perspective and draws upon biology, engineering, microscopy and physics, is quite a challenge,” she says. “Bara, whose expertise is in molecular biology, familiarized himself rapidly with this multidisciplinary research program, and collaborates with researchers from several different fields. He has established new collaborative partnerships and proposed innovative experimental approaches that put our research projects on the leading edge in the field of plant development.”

Bara and his supervisor have already published an article synthesizing this research in a major scientific journal, Current Opinion in Plant Biology. Dr. Geitmann fully expects that Bara’s findings will be published in prestigious journals, particularly the results of his original experiment on labelling cellulose in living plant cells, in which he applied innovative methods.

(Photo © Zoueki, UdeM)

2015 recipient

Paul AbramPaul Abram is the 2015 recipient of the Marie-Victorin Excellence Award, offered each year to one IRBV doctoral student. Although all of this year’s candidates submitted high-quality applications, the selection committee awarded the $5000 prize to Paul without hesitation for his research project investigating the role played by phenotypic plasticity in the evolution of the reproductive strategies of stink bugs and their parasitoids. The quality of both his project and his presentation, the quality of his student record and the numerous articles he has published since beginning his doctoral studies all impressed the jury.

His thesis supervisor, Jacques Brodeur, is not at all surprised by this decision. A researcher in biological control, he considers his student to be simply “the quintessential student-researcher”. Ever since the young Ontarian began his studies at the IRBV in 2012, he has progressed at a rapid pace. “Everything is moving at record speed for Paul,” observes his supervisor. The young researcher has already published six articles in prestigious journals, and has submitted yet another. He expects to publish a half a dozen more articles before beginning his postdoctoral training, most of them the fruit of complementary research conducted by himself or interns under his supervision.

“This exceptional productivity has had no detrimental impact on scientific quality,” adds Jacques Brodeur. “Paul has attained a level of achievement close to perfection. He has immense talent for research; he excels in protocol design, experimental work, data analysis and writing scientific articles. His articles cover all the bases – they are organized, his arguments are well-reasoned and flow smoothly, and his style is perfectly aligned with his topic. He is also an excellent communicator, whether addressing an audience of experts or novices, in English or in French. He is an excellent ambassador for the IRBV and has already earned the respect of the international scientific community. And in addition to his immense talent as a researcher and his professionalism, he is open, good-natured, kind and highly respectful of others. His humanism is refreshing in the competitive world of research.”

According to Jacques Brodeur, Paul has all the qualities necessary to achieve his goal, which is to become a university or government researcher. “He would be ready to begin a fruitful career as a professor and researcher tomorrow morning!”

2014 recipient

edeline_gagnonEdeline Gagnon is the 2014 recipient of the Marie-Victorin Excellence Award, offered yearly to one IRBV doctoral student. The selection committee chose to offer Edeline the $3000 grant for her research project on the systematics and biodiversity of the genus Caesalpinia, a group of arborescent tropical legumes.

Edeline is a highly motivated young researcher with a solid background in botany combined with great versatility. Her thesis advisor, Anne Bruneau, stresses that her student is passionately interested in evolutionary systematics and the science of biodiversity, and skilled both in the laboratory and in the field. She also mentions that Edeline has shown strong leadership in the lab, and plays an important role in training students of all levels.

As a student, she has participated in expeditions to collect specimens in the Andes Mountains in Peru and northern Argentina. She has also held a four-month internship in the lab of Professor Colin Hughes of the University of Zurich and at the Herbarium at the Royal Botanic Gardens Kew. Professor Hughes, with whom she worked in the field and in the lab, has glowing praise for Edeline. He observes that she excels at every task she takes on, whether in the arboretum, in the lab or in the field, and that she is working with great determination to complete her ambitious doctoral research program.

Edeline has already participated in several international conferences and will have published four scientific articles by the time her thesis is completed, which is expected to be in the summer of 2015. Her work on the phylogenetic and biogeographic relationships of the genus Caesalpinia will improve our understanding of the evolution and great diversity of tropical plants, particularly in the Andes.

2013 recipient

Valentin Joly is a thesis supervisor’s dream student. Highly academically gifted, he is a determined, organized researcher who persists in the face of challenge and whose amiable personality is appreciated by all.

Valentin began his studies at the Université de Montréal in 2011. Based on his excellent academic record at the Université Pierre et Marie Curie (1st out of 513 students in Life Sciences), he was able to complete the final year of his undergraduate diploma in the Department of Biological Sciences at the UdeM, primarily at the IRBV. Valentin enjoyed his experience in Montreal so much that in January 2012 he decided to pursue his studies here and registered in the master’s program at the IRBV under the supervision of Daniel P. Matton.

He chose to study the molecular communication between male and female gametophytes and the maintenance of interspecific barriers in the genus Solanum. Less than a year later, he transferred directly into the doctoral program. His supervisor reports that Valentin is an excellent student and masters the multiple facets of a research project rapidly.

Valentin draws aptly upon the findings of scientific publications, and applies them in developing the hypotheses for his own research. His talents are not limited to the domain of theory, however. His thesis project encompasses several aspects of the role of pollen-pistil interactions on the evolution of species and implies extensive sampling of plants in South America. Thanks to his ability to strategize and organize, he was able to arrange a trip to Argentina to collect native species of the genus Solanum. Fluent in Spanish, he established connections with Argentinian researchers and was primarily responsible for the success of the fieldwork expedition.

Valentin also excels in bioinformatics. On his own, he easily created several programs that will be useful in the context of his research project, and have already been used by other researchers on the Matton team. He is co-author of three articles submitted recently for publication and has already made presentations at several international conferences.

Congratulations to a promising young researcher.

2012 recipient

Sougata Roy is the 2012 recipient of the Marie-Victorin Excellence Award, which is offered to one IRBV doctoral student each year. The selection committee unanimously chose to offer Sougata the $3000 grant, based on the quality of his research project and his exceptional abilities.

He is conducting his doctoral research in Davis Morse’s laboratory, studying the mechanisms responsible for gene expression in Lingulodinium polyedrum. Calm and thoughtful by nature, the young scientist originally from India is passionately committed to his research on this unicellular, bioluminescent alga. It is one of the organisms responsible for much of the primary production in the ocean, through photosynthesis, and consequently plays an important role in the earth’s carbon cycle.

Sougata’s research focuses on the molecular functioning of L. polyedrum, whose metabolism and physiology are controlled by circadian rhythms. His objective is to understand how the internal clock of this organism operates, and to acquire information that will help us better understand the impact of internal clocks in pluricellular organisms, including humans.

Sougata is exceptionally talented, possessing impressive knowledge and teaching skills. In the laboratory, he is greatly appreciated by his colleagues for his vast scientific knowledge, as well as his kindness and team spirit. In addition to his research project, he is actively involved in one of the lab’s large-scale projects, the analysis and annotation of the L. polyedrum transcriptome. He has already published two articles in prestigious journals, including one in the Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences (PNAS), which has an impact factor of 9.7.

In his classes and lab meetings, he chooses cutting edge topics at the forefront of scientific research, and always raises pertinent elements for discussion that demonstrate his thorough analysis of the subjects being studied. He has received a grade of A+ in every Ph.D.-level class he has taken. An excellent student, he is already a captivating speaker, able to make his presentations accessible to his audience.

Without a doubt, Sougata possesses all the qualities required to achieve his goal, which is to pursue his career in academia.

2011 recipient

Arnaud Sentis, Ph.D. student under the supervision of Jacques Brodeur (co-supervised by Jean-Louis Hemptinne from Université de Toulouse), for his thesis, “Modélisation des interactions trophiques et intraguildes au sein d’un système plante-herbivore-ennemis naturels”.

Arnaud was chosen unanimously by the selection committee because of his outstanding academic record and original research project, as well as his published articles and conference presentations. The hazards associated with global warming inspired him to examine the specific impact of rising temperatures on herbivorous insects and their predators. According to his supervisors, Arnaud is the ideal doctoral student. Dynamic, passionate, curious, rigourous, creative and independent, Arnaud has a promising academic future, given his extensive knowledge of the scientific literature in his field and his communication skills.

Arnaud is well-liked by his fellow researchers in both Montreal and Toulouse. He has set up complex experimental protocols with enthusiasm and developed an expertise in modeling. His scientific interests extend beyond the fundamental aspects of his project to the potential applications of his findings in agriculture and forestry, through biological control of pests in greenhouses, fields and forests.

2010 recipient

Youssef Chebli, Ph.D. student under the supervision of Anja Geitmann. Youssef was chosen among the nine submitted entries. The 3000$ grant was awarded to him in the presence of members of the Institute and about 60 undergraduate students.

Youssef began his master’s studies in 2006, focusing on the geometric and structural parameters of the pollen tubes of Arabidopsis thaliana, in the laboratory of Anja Geitmann. A remarkable student, he transferred directly into the doctoral program and completed his thesis in June 2011. Selected from among several applicants, Youssef applied the framework provided by his director to create a fascinating research project. Since only a portion of the expertise required to conduct his experiments was available in this laboratory, Youssef established contacts with other laboratories to obtain the necessary information. Demonstrating autonomy, ambition, scientific curiosity and an ability to understand and apply new techniques, he is a highly promising young scientist. Even before completing his thesis, Youssef had already published several scientific articles, including one in the prestigious journal The Plant Cell. He was also actively involved in the organization of an important international conference held in Montreal, the Plant Biology 2010 Meeting. An excellent communicator, he is appreciated by his colleagues and the undergraduate students he assists in laboratory research.

+ Centre sur la biodiversité

Bourse Marie-Victorin

La bourse Marie-Victorin est remise annuellement à un étudiant inscrit au doctorat à l’IRBV. Cette bourse de 5000$ provient des revenus du Fonds Marie-Victorin, un fonds capitalisé créé en l’honneur du fondateur de l’Institut botanique (ancêtre de l’IRBV) et du Jardin botanique de Montréal.

Né Conrad Kirouac, le frère Marie-Victorin (1885-1944) a le mérite d’avoir su communiquer sa passion pour la science à un large public. Ses inventaires scientifiques de la flore de la vallée du St-Laurent ont été publiés dans son œuvre majeure, La flore Laurentienne. Il est aussi l’un des fondateurs de l’ACFAS (Association canadienne française pour l’avancement des sciences) et l’un des promoteurs des Cercles des Jeunes Naturalistes. Le grand projet de sa vie demeure sans conteste le Jardin botanique de Montréal – reconnu comme l’un des plus grands au monde. L’Institut botanique de l’Université de Montréal, maintenant appelé Institut de recherche en biologie végétale, est une autre de ses grandes réalisations.

La bourse Marie-Victorin est un supplément au revenu de l’étudiant et ne doit pas se substituer au montant de soutien exigé par le Département de sciences biologiques pour un étudiant inscrit au troisième cycle. Cette bourse permet de:

  • contribuer à l’autonomie financière de l’étudiant;
  • favoriser l’excellence de la recherche;
  • développer la qualité de la relève professionnelle;
  • intensifier l’importance et l’impact de la recherche en biologie végétale;
  • accroître le leadership et le rayonnement scientifiques de l’IRBV.

Modalités d’attribution

La bourse Marie-Victorin est remise à un étudiant inscrit au doctorat à l’Université de Montréal en direction ou en codirection avec un professeur-chercheur de l’IRBV. L’étudiant doit poursuivre des études à temps plein et ne pas prévoir soumettre sa thèse avant le premier janvier suivant la soumission de sa candidature à la bourse. Un récipiendaire ne peut soumettre sa candidature pour une seconde année.

Évaluation des demandes

Les candidatures seront évaluées par un comité de sélection de l’IRBV selon les critères suivants, en ordre de priorité:

  • originalité et qualité du projet de recherche;
  • potentiel du candidat pour la recherche;
  • ressources financières du candidat;
  • excellence du dossier académique du candidat.

Le dossier de candidature doit inclure les éléments suivants:

  • un court texte vulgarisé du projet de recherche justifiant son importance (deux pages);
  • une liste ainsi que les montants de toutes les ressources financières, y compris l’appui financier du directeur, prévus pour l’année de l’obtention de la bourse Marie-Victorin;
  • une lettre d’appui de la part du directeur de recherche;
  • un curriculum vitae.

Date de dépôt

Les étudiants doivent soumettre leur candidature avant le 31 août de chaque année et envoyer leur dossier en format PDF à Madame Lucie Campeau (lucie.campeau@umontreal.ca ).

Merci à nos généreux donateurs

Coop fédérée Amis du Jardin Botanique

Pour souscrire, veuillez visiter la page du Fonds Marie-Victorin.

A chaque année, le Fonds Marie-Victorin permet à l’IRBV d’offrir une bourse à un de ses étudiants au doctoral. Voici les récipiendaires de cette bourse d’excellence:

Récipiendaire 2017

Julie Faure est la récipiendaire 2017 de la bourse Marie-Victorin. Le comité de sélection a choisi de remettre la bourse de 5000 $ à Julie pour son projet de recherche portant sur l’étude des relations plantes-pollinisateurs et de l’évolution de la pollinisation chez les Gesneriaceae antillaises (Gesneria et Rhytidophyllum), projet réalisé sous la direction de Simon Joly.

Parmi les neuf excellentes candidatures reçues, les membres du comité ont tenu à récompenser Julie pour l’excellence de son dossier académique, pour la présentation très bien vulgarisée de son projet et l’originalité de celui-ci, ainsi que pour son implication bénévole.

Son directeur de recherche décrit d’ailleurs une étudiante fort curieuse. « Julie est véritablement passionnée de sciences naturelles. Elle aime particulièrement les oiseaux, mais aussi les mammifères et les plantes. Pas étonnant que son projet de doctorat concerne les relations entre plusieurs domaines du vivant! »

Pour Simon Joly, Julie se distingue par sa grande capacité de synthèse et d’analyse, mais aussi pour ses talents de communicatrice et pour son implication sociale. « Julie est communicatrice hors-pair, dit-il fièrement. Elle reçoit des éloges à chaque fois qu’elle présente ses travaux lors de symposiums. Mais encore plus important, elle aime communiquer la science au grand public. Elle est d’ailleurs très impliquée dans Les Scientifines, un organisme qui a pour but de susciter l’intérêt des jeunes filles à la science. Ce qu’elle fait avec ces jeunes est absolument remarquable! »

Récipiendaire 2016

Bara Altartouri, récipiendaire 2016 de la Bourse Marie-VictorinBara Altartouri est le récipiendaire 2016 de la bourse Marie-Victorin. Le comité de sélection a choisi de remettre la bourse de 5000$ à Bara pour son projet de recherche intitulé « Intricate cell shape formation in Arabidopsis pavement cells ».

Les membres du comité, les chercheurs Alain Cuerrier, Colin Favret et Luc Brouillet, ont été grandement impressionnés par la qualité scientifique du projet de Bara, par la clarté de sa description, ainsi que par les qualités de chercheur du jeune étudiant.

La professeure Anja Geitmann, sa directrice de recherche, n’est pas surprise de cette décision puisqu’elle avoue sans hésitation que Bara est l’un des étudiants les plus talentueux qu’elle ait dirigés dans sa carrière. « Ce n’est pas une mince tâche », avoue-t-elle, « de s’intégrer dans mon programme de recherche qui porte sur le développement des plantes dans un perspective mécanique, et qui fait appel à la biologie, au génie, à la microscopie et à la physique. Bara, qui a une expertise en biologie moléculaire, se familiarise rapidement à cette recherche multidisciplinaire en collaborant avec des chercheurs d’horizons différents. Il établit des collaborations originales et propose des approches expérimentales inédites qui placent nos projets de recherche à l’avant-garde du domaine du développement végétal. »

Bara et sa directrice ont déjà publié un article de synthèse dans une importante revue scientifique, Current Opinion in Plant Biology. Selon la professeure Geitmann, il ne fait aucun doute que les résultats de Bara seront publiés dans des revues prestigieuses, particulièrement ceux issus de son expérience originale sur le marquage de la cellulose dans les cellules végétales vivantes et qui fait appel à des méthodes innovatrices.

(Photo © Zoueki, UdeM)

Récipiendaire 2015

Paul AbramPaul Abram est le récipiendaire 2015 de la bourse Marie-Victorin. Malgré la grande qualité de tous les dossiers de candidature soumis cette année, c’est sans hésitation que le comité de sélection a accordé la bourse de 5000$ à Paul pour son projet de recherche visant à mieux comprendre le rôle que joue la plasticité phénotypique sur l’évolution des stratégies reproductives des punaises et de leurs parasitoïdes. La qualité du projet et de sa présentation, la qualité du dossier de l’étudiant et le grand nombre de publications depuis le début de son programme de doctorat ont impressionné le jury.

Son directeur de thèse Jacques Brodeur n’est pas du tout surpris de cette décision. Pour le chercheur en lutte biologique, son étudiant est simplement « la quintessence de l’étudiant chercheur. » Depuis que le jeune ontarien est arrivé à l’IRBV en 2012, il a en effet progressé à un rythme des plus soutenu. « Tout se déroule à la vitesse grand V pour Paul », souligne son directeur. Le jeune chercheur a déjà publié six articles dans des revues de haut niveau et en a soumis un autre. Il prévoit aussi publier un nombre équivalent d’articles avant d’entreprendre son stage postdoctoral, la plupart étant le fruit de travaux complémentaires réalisés par lui ou par des stagiaires sous sa supervision.

« Cette productivité exceptionnelle ne se fait nullement au détriment de la qualité scientifique », précise Jacques Brodeur. Paul atteint des niveaux de réalisation qui frôlent la perfection. Il a un immense talent en recherche, il excelle dans la conception des protocoles, la réalisation des expériences, l’analyse des données et la rédaction d’articles scientifiques. Dans ses articles, tout y est, la structure du texte, la fluidité et la justesse des arguments et l’adéquation du style. Il est aussi un excellent communicateur, aussi habile devant un public de spécialistes que de néophytes, et cela en anglais et en français. C’est un excellent ambassadeur pour l’IRBV et il est déjà respecté par la communauté scientifique internationale. Mais en plus de son immense talent de chercheur et de son professionnalisme, il y a la franchise, la joie de vivre, la bonté et le respect tout à fait unique qu’il porte à autrui. « Un humanisme rafraichissant dans le monde compétitif de la recherche. »

Selon Jacques Brodeur, Paul a tout ce qu’il faut pour atteindre son but, soit de devenir chercheur dans le milieu universitaire ou gouvernemental. « Il pourrait entamer une fructueuse carrière de professeur et de chercheur dès demain matin! »

Récipiendaire 2014

edeline_gagnonEdeline Gagnon est la récipiendaire 2014 de la bourse Marie-Victorin qui est remise annuellement à un étudiant au doctorat à l’IRBV. Le comité de sélection a choisi de remettre la bourse de 3000 $ à Edeline pour son projet de recherche sur la systématique et la biodiversité du genre Caesalpinia, un groupe de légumineuses tropicales arborescentes.

Edeline est une jeune chercheure très motivée qui possède une solide formation en botanique et qui fait preuve d’une grande polyvalence. Sa directrice de thèse Anne Bruneau souligne que son étudiante est passionnée par la systématique évolutive et par la science de la biodiversité et qu’elle excelle autant sur le terrain qu’au laboratoire. Elle mentionne également qu’Edeline fait preuve de beaucoup de leadership au sein de son laboratoire et qu’elle joue un rôle important dans la formation des étudiants de tous les cycles.

La jeune étudiante a effectué des expéditions de récolte dans les Andes du Pérou et dans le Nord de l’Argentine. Elle a aussi fait un stage de quatre mois au laboratoire du professeur Colin Hughes de l’Université de Zurich et à l’herbier du Jardin botanique de Kew. Le professeur Hugues, qui l’a côtoyée sur le terrain et dans son laboratoire, ne tarie pas d’éloge pour Edeline. Il a constaté qu’elle maîtrise à merveille tout ce qu’elle entreprend, que ce soit à l’herbier, au laboratoire ou sur le terrain, et qu’elle travaille avec beaucoup de détermination pour mener à terme son projet ambitieux projet de doctorat.

Edeline a déjà participé à plusieurs congrès internationaux et au terme de sa recherche, prévue pour l’été 2015, elle aura fait connaître ses travaux à la communauté botanique par le biais de quatre publications scientifiques. Ses travaux sur les relations phylogéniques et biogéographiques du genre Caesalpinia aideront à mieux comprendre l’évolution et la grande diversité des plantes tropicales, particulièrement dans les Andes.

Récipiendaire 2013

Valentin Joly est l’étudiant auquel rêve tout directeur de recherche. En plus d’être extrêmement doué sur le plan académique, il est un travailleur acharné et structuré qui ne recule devant aucun défi et dont l’entregent et la disponibilité sont appréciées de tous.

Le parcours de Valentin à l’Université de Montréal débute en 2011. L’excellence de son dossier académique à l’Université Pierre et Marie Curie (1er sur 513 étudiants en Sciences du vivant) lui permet de réaliser la dernière année de sa licence au Département de sciences biologiques de l’UdeM, et ce principalement à l’IRBV. Valentin apprécie tellement son séjour à Montréal qu’il décide, en janvier 2012, de poursuivre ses études ici en s’inscrivant à la maîtrise à l’IRBV sous la direction de Daniel P. Matton.

Il choisit d’étudier la communication moléculaire entre les gamétophytes mâle et femelle et le maintien des barrières interspécifiques au sein du genre Solanum. Moins d’un an plus tard, il fait un passage direct au doctorat, ce qui ravi son directeur de recherche, qui est enchanté par la capacité de Valentin à exceller dans tout ce qu’il entreprend et à maîtriser les multiples facettes d’un projet de recherche.

Valentin sait en effet consulter intelligemment la littérature scientifique et dégager les consensus sur lesquels il base ses hypothèses de travail. Mais son talent ne se limite pas à la préparation théorique. Le projet auquel Valentin participe englobe plusieurs aspects du rôle des interactions pollen-pistil sur l’évolution des espèces et implique un important échantillonnage de plantes en Amérique du sud. Sa débrouillardise et son sens de l’organisation lui ont permis d’organiser un voyage en Argentine pour récolter des espèces sauvages du genre Solanum. Parlant l’espagnol, il a effectué tous les contacts avec les chercheurs Argentins et il est le grand responsable du succès de ce voyage sur le terrain.

Valentin excelle également en bioinformatique. Il a créé lui-même, et ce en peu de temps, plusieurs programmes qui lui seront utiles pour son projet de recherche et qui sont déjà utilisés par d’autres chercheurs de l’équipe de Daniel Matton. Il a son nom sur trois publications soumises récemment et a déjà participé à plusieurs conférences dans différents congrès internationaux.

Félicitations à un jeune chercheur prometteur.

Récipiendaire 2012

Sougata Roy est le récipiendaire 2012 de la bourse Marie-Victorin qui est remise annuellement à un étudiant faisant son doctorat à l’IRBV. C’est sans équivoque que le comité de sélection a choisi de remettre la bourse de 3000 $ à Sougata pour la qualité de son projet de recherche et pour ses aptitudes exceptionnelles.

Sougata effectue son doctorat au laboratoire de David Morse. Il étudie les mécanismes responsables de l’expression des gènes chez Lingulodinium polyedrum. De nature calme et plutôt discrète, l’étudiant originaire de l’Inde se consacre avec passion à l’étude de L. polyedrum, une algue unicellulaire bioluminescente. Cette algue fait partie des organismes qui, par leur photosynthèse, sont responsables d’une grande partie de la production primaire des océans et qui jouent donc un rôle important dans le cycle du carbone sur terre.

Le jeune chercheur étudie donc le fonctionnement moléculaire de L. polyedrum dont le métabolisme et la physiologie sont sous le contrôle de rythmes circadiens. Il cherche à mieux comprendre l’action de l’horloge interne de cet organisme et à obtenir des informations pouvant permettre de mieux comprendre les impacts des horloges internes chez les organismes pluricellulaires, comme l’humain.

Sougata impressionne autant par ses connaissances que par ses talents de pédagogue. Au laboratoire il est grandement apprécié de ses collègues autant pour son savoir scientifique que pour sa grande gentillesse et son esprit d’équipe. En plus de son projet de recherche, il est activement impliqué dans un projet d’envergure de son laboratoire, soit l’analyse et l’annotation du transcriptome de L. polyedrum. Il a déjà à son actif deux publications parues dans des revues prestigieuses, dont l’une dans la revue Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences (PNAS), qui a un facteur d’impact de 9,7.

Dans ses cours et dans les réunions de laboratoire, il choisit des sujets à la fine pointe de l’actualité scientifique et il apporte toujours des éléments de discussion pertinents démontrant une analyse approfondie des sujets à l’étude. Il a d’ailleurs obtenu la note A+ dans tous les cours qu’il a suivis dans le cadre de son doctorat. Excellent pédagogue, il excelle déjà à captiver son auditoire et à rendre accessible le sujet qu’il présente.

Avec toutes ces qualités, il ne fait donc nul doute que Sougata possède tous les atouts nécessaires pour atteindre son objectif de carrière, soit de continuer à œuvrer dans le domaine académique.

Récipiendaire 2011

Arnaud Sentis, étudiant au doctorat en cotutelle entre l’Université de Montréal (Jacques Brodeur, directeur) et l’Université de Toulouse (Jean-Louis Hemptinne, codirecteur ) pour son projet de doctorat intitulé: Modélisation des interactions trophiques et intraguildes au sein d’un système plante-herbivore-ennemis naturels.

Le comité de sélection a choisi Arnaud pour l’excellence du dossier qu’il a présenté, l’originalité de son projet de recherche et la qualité de ses publications et de ses présentations orales. Intrigué par les menaces du réchauffement climatique actuel, Arnaud a lui-même conçu son sujet de thèse qui consiste à étudier l’effet des hausses de température sur les insectes herbivores et leurs prédateurs. Ses directeurs disent de lui qu’il est le prototype idéal de l’étudiant au doctorat. Dynamique, passionné, curieux, rigoureux, créatif, et autonome, Arnaud est selon eux voué à un bel avenir puisqu’il est a déjà une excellente connaissance de la littérature scientifique de son domaine de recherche et qu’il est un excellent communicateur.

Décrit comme étant de commerce très agréable, Arnaud est apprécié de tous les membres des équipes de recherche qu’il côtoie à Montréal ou à Toulouse. Il met sur pied avec brio des protocoles expérimentaux complexes et il développe une expertise en modélisation. Comme il s’intéresse non seulement aux aspects fondamentaux de son projet mais aussi aux applications que pourront avoir ses travaux en agriculture et en foresterie, Arnaud fera partie de ceux qui, dans un proche avenir, pourront utiliser efficacement les agents de lutte biologique en serres, au champ ou en forêt.

Récipiendaire 2010

Youssef Chebli, étudiant au doctorat sous la direction d’Anja Geitmann. La candidature de Youssef a été retenue parmi neuf dossiers soumis. Cette reconnaissance lui a été accordée en présence des membres de l’Institut et de plus d’une soixantaine d’étudiants au baccalauréat.

Youssef a commencé sa maîtrise en 2006 sur les paramètres géométriques et structuraux du tube pollinique d’Arabidopsis thaliana au laboratoire d’Anja Geitmann. Étudiant remarquable, il a fait un passage direct au doctorat et terminera sa thèse en juin 2011. Choisi parmi plusieurs candidats intéressés par le projet qui deviendra le sien, Youssef a su, à partir de grandes lignes directrices fournies par sa directrice, mettre sur pied un projet de recherche des plus intéressants. Comme l’expertise pour son projet n’était qu’en partie disponible dans son laboratoire, Youssef a établi des contacts avec d’autres laboratoires pour obtenir les renseignements dont il avait besoin pour réaliser ses expériences. Cette grande autonomie, son ambition, sa curiosité scientifique et sa capacité de comprendre et de mettre en pratique les nouvelles techniques, font de lui un jeune scientifique fort prometteur. Avant même de terminer sa thèse, Youssef a déjà à son actif plusieurs publications scientifiques dont une dans la prestigieuse revue The Plant Cell. Il a également participé activement à l’organisation d’un important congrès international tenu à Montréal en 2010, Plant Biology 2010 Meeting. Excellent communicateur, il est apprécié de tous les collègues et des étudiants du premier cycle qu’il aide dans leurs travaux de laboratoire.

+ Centre sur la biodiversité