J. André Fortin Excellence Award

The J. André Fortin Excellence Award is presented every year to a student having defended the best thesis of the previous year in the fields of mycology and mycorrhizae. This 1000$ award was made possible thanks for a very generous annual donation from Mr J. André Fortin.

Following a long academic career at Université Laval where he became a leading researcher in the field of mycorrhizae, Mr. J. André Fortin became the IRBV’s first director when the Institute was founded in 1990. He was then awarded the title of Scientific Researcher of the Year by Radio-Canada for his contribution to the creation of the Institute. He then managed to put together a very productive research lab in the field of mycorrhyzae and following his departure from the IRBV in 1996, he remained active in both the fondamental and applied aspects of mycology research.

Terms and conditions

The J. André Fortin Excellence Award is presented to a student registered in a doctoral program at the Université de Montréal, supervised or co-supervised by a professor-researcher at the IRBV. The student’s thesis defense must have taken place during the year preceding the application, between September 1st of the previous year to August 31st of the current year.

Applicants must submit all of the following documents:

  • The front page, abstract and index of the thesis. The latter index must include the publication status of every chapter (submitted, under revision, or published; if published, include article’s full bibliographical notice);
  • the report from the defense jury;
  • a letter of recommendation from the research supervisor.

Application deadline

The deadline for student applications is August 31st of each year. An electronic version of all documents must be submitted in PDF format to Lucie Campeau (lucie.campeau@umontreal.ca).

2017 recipient

Alice Roy-Bolduc is the first recipient of the new J.-André-Fortin Excellence Award, for her thesis on fungal communities in the soil, specifically on their dynamics, succession and interactions with the vegetation of a coastal dune ecosystem in the Magdalen Islands, Quebec.

Her thesis, supervised by Mohamed Hijri and Étienne Laliberté of the IRBV as well as Stéphane Boudreau of Université Laval, impressed the entire selection committee with its originality and excellence. The results of Alice’s research contribute to our knowledge of the processes of evolution and interaction in plant and fungal communities of dune systems. The data obtained through techniques based on molecular biology, high throughput sequencing and advanced bio-informatics provided the young researcher with sufficient material to publish six articles over the course of her doctoral studies, three of them as first author in high calibre journals, and one as the principal author of a literature review.

The impact of Alice Roy-Bolduc’s contribution is not limited to the new knowledge that her scientific studies reveal about the dynamics and interaction in fungal dune communities in the Magdalen Islands. She has also left her mark in her workplace and in the community. As an involved and much-loved student representative, Alice has organized many social and educational events. With her boundless energy and dynamic personality, she has helped make possible events as varied as Christmas parties and symposiums in the Department of Biological Sciences, and a scientific book club on soil microorganisms. Actively involved in environmental causes, Alice relies on her bicycle for transportation year-round. She is also involved in many different causes, including the annual cleanup of Mount Royal Park, where she has staffed the IRBV’s booth and recruited a team of volunteer biologists from the IRBV to collect data on tree and shrub growth over a period of several years.

+ Centre sur la biodiversité

Bourse J. André Fortin

La bourse J. André Fortin est remise annuellement pour la meilleure thèse en mycologie ou sur les mycorhizes soutenue dans l’année par un étudiant inscrit à l’IRBV. Cette bourse de 1000$ provient d’un généreux don annuel de M. J. André Fortin, que nous remercions.

Longtemps professeur à l’Université Laval, où il avait développé une recherche pionnière sur les mycorhizes, monsieur J. André Fortin est devenu le premier directeur de l’IRBV lors de sa fondation en 1990; il s’était alors mérité le titre de scientifique de l’année de Radio-Canada pour sa contribution à l’Institut. Il y a développé un très productif laboratoire de recherche dans ce domaine. Après son départ de l’IRBV en 1996, M. Fortin est demeuré actif en mycologie, tant dans ses aspects fondamentaux qu’appliqués.

Modalités d’attribution

La bourse est remise à un étudiant inscrit au doctorat à l’Université de Montréal en direction ou en codirection avec un professeur-chercheur de l’IRBV. La soutenance de thèse doit avoir eu lieu dans l’année précédant la date de soumission, c’est à dire entre le premier septembre de l’année précédente et le 31 août de l’année courante.

Le dossier de candidature doit inclure les éléments suivants:

  • La page couverture, le résumé, et la table des matières de la thèse, cette dernière indiquant le status de publication de chaque chapitre (soumis, en révision, ou publié – donner la citation complète de l’article dans ce cas);
  • le rapport du jury de soutenance;
  • une lettre de recommandation du directeur de thèse soulignant en quoi la thèse se mériterait la bourse.

Date de dépôt

Les étudiants doivent soumettre leur candidature avant le 31 août de chaque année et envoyer leur dossier en format pdf à Madame Lucie Campeau (lucie.campeau@umontreal.ca).

Récipiendaire 2017

Alice Roy-Bolduc est la première récipiendaire de la bourse J.-André-Fortin, pour sa thèse intitulée « La face cachée de la dune: Communautés fongiques du sol: dynamique, succession et interactions avec la végétation d’un écosystème dunaire côtier aux Îles de la Madeleine, Québec ».

La thèse dirigée par Mohamed Hijri et Étienne Laliberté de l’IRBV, et par Stéphane Boudreau de l’Université Laval, a fait l’unanimité au sein du comité de sélection qui a été impressionné par l’originalité et l’excellence générale du travail de l’étudiante. Les résultats des travaux d’Alice permettent en effet de mieux comprendre les processus d’évolution et d’interaction des communautés végétales et fongiques des systèmes dunaires. Les données obtenues grâce aux techniques de biologie moléculaire, de séquençage à haut débit et de bio-informatique avancée ont permis à la jeune chercheure de publier six articles durant son doctorat, dont trois comme première auteure dans des revues de haut calibre, et un comme auteure principale d’une revue de littérature.

L’impact d’Alice Roy-Bolduc ne se résume pas uniquement pas aux nouvelles connaissances qu’apportent ses travaux scientifiques sur la dynamique et l’interaction des communautés fongiques des dunes des Îles de la Madeleine. Elle laisse aussi sa marque dans son milieu de travail et dans la communauté. Représentante étudiante impliquée et aimée, Alice a organisé de nombreux événements sociaux et éducatifs. Son énergie débordante et son dynamisme légendaire ont rendu possible des évènements variés allant des fêtes de Noël aux symposiums du Département de sciences biologiques et au club de lecture scientifique sur les microorganismes du sol. Impliquée au niveau environnemental, la jeune femme qui se déplace à vélo à l’année, s’implique beaucoup dans différentes causes, dont la Corvée du Mont-Royal, où elle a tenu un kiosque de l’IRBV et a mis sur pied une équipe de biologistes bénévoles de l’IRBV récoltant des données de croissance d’arbres et arbustes sur plusieurs années.

+ Centre sur la biodiversité