Marcelle-Gauvreau Fund

The Marcelle-Gauvreau Fund is managed by the Faculty of Arts and Sciences of the Université de Montréal. It was inaugurated in 2022 for the centenary of the Institut de recherche en biologie végétale (IRBV), where Marcelle Gauvreau studied. It was made possible by an initial donation from the Friends of the Montréal Botanical Garden.

The Marcelle Gauvreau Excellence Award of $5000 is presented every year to an IRBV student who demonstrates exceptional commitment to their community and research excellence, while sharing scientific knowledge with the general public.

Donating

You can make a donation to the Marcelle-Gauvreau Fund at the following link: https://www.zeffy.com/fr-CA/fundraising/14484893-a53f-4a90-8331-0c5ec3631427.

Marcelle Gauvreau

During her university studies, Marcelle Gauvreau worked as a librarian at the Botanical Institute (now the IRBV) and became involved in the Canadian Natural History Society (CNHS) as well as an association of clubs for young naturalists (Cercles des Jeunes Naturalistes). In 1933, she collaborated with Brother Marie-Victorin on his inventory of Québec plants, La Flore Laurentienne, and later worked on Radio Canada’s educational series, La Cité des plantes. In 1935, she founded a school to initiate young people in the natural sciences (École de l’Éveil). She devoted a great deal of energy to that initiative, which operated at the Montréal Botanical Garden until 1957. A number of branches of the school were opened subsequently. She travelled to Europe numerous times to study preschool teaching methods. Marcelle Gauvreau published two children’s books on plants, Plantes curieuses de mon pays (1943) and Plantes vagabondes (1957), and also wrote a weekly column about the young naturalists clubs in Montréal’s Le Devoir newspaper from 1938 to 1954.

She was elected president of the CNHS in 1956, was a member of several organizations, and authored numerous scientific articles as well as a bibliography of Brother Marie-Victorin. She also published an important volume on Québec marine algae in 1956, based on research conducted for her master’s thesis (1939). Marcelle Gauvreau is considered by many to be a pioneer in preschool education in Québec. She died on December 16, 1968.

Context

The Marcelle Gauvreau Excellence Award was created on the 100th anniversary of the founding of the IRBV, as a result of a long-standing desire within our institution to highlight the exceptional involvement of her students in society and university life.

Fonds Marcelle-Gauvreau

Le Fonds Marcelle-Gauvreau est un Fonds doté géré par la Faculté des Arts et Sciences de l’Université de Montréal. Il a été inauguré en 2022 dans le cadre du Centenaire de l’Institut de recherche en biologie végétale (IRBV), où Marcelle Gauvreau a fait ses études, grâce à un don initial des Amis du Jardin botanique de Montréal.

Le Fonds Marcelle-Gauvreau sert à remettre annuellement la bourse Marcelle-Gauvreau. Cette bourse d’une valeur de 5000$ est remise annuellement à un.e étudiant.e gradué.e à l’IRBV qui se démarque par son engagement citoyen, son implication dans le transfert de connaissance vers la communauté et par la qualité de ses recherches.

Faire un don

Vous pouvez faire un don au Fonds Marcelle-Gauvreau au lien suivant: https://www.zeffy.com/fr-CA/fundraising/14484893-a53f-4a90-8331-0c5ec3631427.

Marcelle Gauvreau

Pendant ses études, Marcelle Gauvreau travaille comme bibliothécaire à l’Institut botanique et s’implique au sein de la Société canadienne d’histoire naturelle (SCHN) et des Cercles des jeunes naturalistes (CJN). En 1933, elle collabore à la Flore laurentienne du frère Marie-Victorin et plus tard à la série éducative La Cité des plantes sur les ondes de Radio-Canada. En 1935, elle fonde l’École de l’Éveil qui initie les jeunes aux sciences naturelles. Elle consacre alors beaucoup d’énergie à cette initiative qui se tiendra au jardin botanique de Montréal jusqu’en 1957. De nombreuses succursales ouvrirons par la suite. Elle effectue plusieurs voyages en Europe pour étudier les méthodes d’enseignement préscolaire. Marcelle Gauvreau publie deux livres destinés aux enfants, Plantes curieuses de mon pays (1943) et Plantes vagabondes (1957), en plus de tenir une chronique hebdomadaire au sujet des Cercles des Jeunes Naturalistes dans le journal Le Devoir de 1938 à 1954.

Élue, en 1956, présidente de la SCHN et membre de plusieurs regroupements, Marcelle Gauvreau est l’auteure de nombreuses communications scientifiques et d’une bibliographie du frère Marie-Victorin. Elle a aussi publié un livre important sur les algues marines du Québec en 1956, qui est le fruit de ses travaux de maîtrise (1939). Celle que plusieurs considèrent comme une pionnière de l’enseignement préscolaire au Québec est décédée le 16 décembre 1968.

Contexte

La bourse Marcelle-Gauvreau a été créée lors du 100e anniversaire de l’IRBV. L’IRBV cherchait depuis longtemps à souligner l’implication exceptionnelle de ses étudiants dans la société et vie universitaire.