Biodiversity Centre

Located on the site of the Montreal Botanical Garden, the Biodiversity Centre is a world-class centre of excellence in biodiversity research and conservation.

The mission of the Biodiversity Centre is to:

  • engage in long-term conservation and digitization of major plant, insect and fungi collections
  • develop innovative research programs and train a new generation of scientists in disciplines associated with inventorying biodiversity
  • coordinate uploading of major biological collections databases housed on the Canadensys network’s portal, and ensure international access
  • increase public awareness of the importance of inventorying and preserving biodiversity

The Centre is also supported in its mission by the presence of the Secretariat of the UN Convention on Biological Diversity established in Montreal since 1996.

The partnership between the IRBV and the Montreal Botanical Garden

The Centre, like the IRBV, is a product of the longstanding partnership between the Université de Montréal and the Montreal Botanical Garden. The Centre benefits from the synergy between its major partners in the areas of research, training, conservation and public awareness programs in environmental protection and sustainable development.

The scientific expertise and and biodiversity databases of both the Centre and the Canadensys network are important resources for the educational programs offered by the Montreal Botanical Garden, the Insectarium and the Biodome.

The Centre’s location is ideal for promoting public awareness on issues related to biodiversity conservation and research.

The Centre’s facilities

Inaugurated in 2011, the Centre houses major Quebec collections of plants, insects and fungi. Its facilities include laboratories equipped with state-of-the-art technology and equipment, researchers passionate about discovery, a growing digitized network in the field of biodiversity, classrooms and an exhibition hall.

Displays in the Centre’s exhibition hall educate visitors to the Botanical Garden about biodiversity, practices that threaten it and measures to preserve it. The hall showcases biological collections and the important role of research and training for biodiversity preservation.

 

A green building

The Biodiversity Centre was designed by Provencher-Roy et Associés Architectes and built by Décarel Inc. according to the internationally-recognized Gold LEED standards (Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design) developed by the U.S. Green Building Council and adapted by the Canada Green Building Council. These standards are a key measure of environmentally-sound construction.

Some of the features associated with this designation include a green roof, the collection and reuse of rainwater for toilet flushing and a geothermal system for heating and air conditioning.

For more information, see the case study presented by VoirVert.ca (text in French).

Centre sur la biodiversité

Situé sur le site du Jardin botanique de Montréal, le Centre sur la biodiversité constitue un pôle d’excellence de niveau international dans le domaine de la biodiversité.

Vocation du Centre sur la biodiversité:

  • permettre la conservation à long terme et l’informatisation d’importantes collections de plantes, d’insectes et de champignons
  • faire avancer la recherche et la formation de la relève dans différentes spécialités reliées à l’inventaire de la biodiversité
  • coordonner la mise en réseau et l’accessibilité internationale des données des grandes collections biologiques de Canadensys
  • sensibiliser le public à l’importance de l’inventaire et de la préservation de la biodiversité

Le Centre profite également de la présence du Secrétariat permanent de la Convention sur la diversité biologique, installé à Montréal depuis 1996.

Lien de partenariat avec l’IRBV et le Jardin botanique de Montréal

À l’instar de l’Institut de recherche en biologie végétale, le Centre sur la biodiversité constitue un résultat tangible du partenariat établi de longue date entre l’Université de Montréal et le Jardin botanique de Montréal. Il bénéficie de la synergie qui existe entre ces grands partenaires dans les domaines de la recherche, de l’enseignement, de la conservation et de la sensibilisation du public en matière de protection environnementale et de développement durable.

L’expertise scientifique et les bases de données de biodiversité du Centre et de Canadensys constitueront d’importantes ressources pour les programmes éducatifs du Jardin botanique de Montréal, de l’Insectarium et du Biodôme.

Le Centre est idéalement situé pour accroître la sensibilisation du public aux grandes problématiques liées à la biodiversité, à sa conservation et à l’importance de la recherche et de la conservation dans ce domaine.

L’infrastructure du Centre

Inauguré en mars 2011, le Centre réunit dans un même lieu des collections québécoises de plantes, d’insectes et de champignons parmi les plus importantes, des laboratoires à la fine pointe de la technologie et des chercheurs passionnés de découvertes, un réseau informatique évolutif sur la biodiversité, des salles d’enseignement pour les étudiants et une salle d’exposition pour le grand public.

Le Centre comprend une salle d’exposition où les nombreux visiteurs du Jardin botanique pourront s’informer sur la biodiversité, les dangers qui la menacent et les moyens pour la préserver. Ce hall d’exposition mettra en valeur les collections biologiques et l’importance de la recherche et de la relève scientifique dans la préservation de la biodiversité.

Édifice vert

Le Centre sur la biodiversité a été conçu par les Architectes Provencher-Roy et Associés et construit par l’entreprise Décarel Inc. suivant les normes LEED Or (Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design) développées par le U.S. Green Building Council et adaptées par le Conseil du bâtiment durable du Canada. Ces normes jouissent d’une reconnaissance internationale en matière de protection de l’environnement.

Parmi les caractéristiques contribuant à cette désignation, on peut citer le toit vert, la récupération des eaux de pluies pour les chasses d’eau et un système de géothermie pour le chauffage et la climatisation.

Pour en apprendre plus, voir l’étude de cas de VoirVert.ca.

+ Centre sur la biodiversité